I learn from going where I have to go- Theodore Roethke

After a July of epic travels (4 National Parks in 6 weeks) I’ve been focused on more earthly pursuits at home. It’s funny how even when my thoughts are supposed to be far away from this travel gig, somehow the wanderlust always manages to sneak back in to my life.
Right now, in town I’m working on cultivating a yoga practice worthy of taking things to the next level and doing a 200-hour yoga teacher training sometime next year.
For me, that “worthy practice” means a minimum of 3 classes a week for six months. So I’m spending a lot of time in the studio cultivating a practice, and reading at home with my most beloved yoga book “Meditations from the Mat: Daily Reflections on the Path of Yoga” by Rolf Gates and Katrina Kenison.
As a yogi, writer and passionate lover of books I have to say this one is my all-time favorite. It’s just collection of quote each with a few paragraphs on what it means to the author. What’s good about it is the random sources of the quotes, there’s rock and roll stuff, bible stuff, baghavad gita stuff, Iyengar stuff, poet stuff and politician stuff and how it’s all very causally linked to a progression through the yamas and niyamas. I read it when I practice, I read it when I don’t, sometimes I skip a few and sometimes I read several before I fall asleep. Much like a yoga practice itself, it gives you what you need where you’re at today.
And today, when I cracked it open, I was given the gift of a travel quote
“I learn from going where I have to go.” Such a simple statement, with so much meaning. So much to think about.
Is travel about duty? obligation? surrender? freedom? impulse? What exactly does it mean to travel? Could it mean that a trip to the yoga studio is the same as a trip to a national park? It’s a lot to unpack.

Leave a Reply

